Tutorials

About Tutorial

Tutorial 2

Title: Multimedia Retrieval in and for XR

Tutorial Time: Wednesday 12th June 14:00 (Suryan)
Presenters:
Maria Pegia
  • CERTH, Greece
  • mpegia@iti.gr
Sotiris Diplaris
  • Center for Research and Technology Hellas, Greece
  • diplaris@iti.gr
Stefanos Vrochidis
  • Center for Research and Technology Hellas, Greece
  • stefanos@iti.gr
Heiko Schuldt
  • University of Basel, Switzerland
  • Email: heiko.schuldt@unibas.ch
Florian Spiess
  • University of Basel, Switzerland
  • florian.spiess@unibas.ch
Rahel Arnold
  • University of Basel, Switzerland
  • rahel.arnold@unibas.ch
Werner Bailer
  • JOANNEUM RESEARCH, Graz, Austria
  • werner.bailer@joanneum.at
Short Description:

This proposal aims to provide an overview of multimedia retrieval in the context of eXtended Reality (XR), including using virtual and augmented/mixed reality as a user interface for multimedia retrieval, as well as multimedia search tasks addressing content needs for the creation of XR experiences. It will discuss the opportunities and limitations of XR-based search, the evaluation of XR-based multimedia retrieval systems, the demonstration of selected research systems, and open research challenges.

Figure 1: Asset retrieval for reconstruction

Figure 2: 3D object retrieval

Figure 3: Evaluating XR search/exploration